Governors State University

OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship

Newsroom

Marketing and Communications

12-1-2020

National Society of Collegiate Scholars Taps GSU's Lydia Aguirre

Office of Marketing and Communications Governors State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://opus.govst.edu/newsroom

Recommended Citation

Office of Marketing and Communications, "National Society of Collegiate Scholars Taps GSU's Lydia Aguirre" (2020). *Newsroom.* 2.

https://opus.govst.edu/newsroom/2

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Marketing and Communications at OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship. It has been accepted for inclusion in Newsroom by an authorized administrator of OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship. For more information, please contact opus@govst.edu.

University Park, IL, December 01, 2020

National Society of Collegiate Scholars Taps GSU's Lydia Aguirre



Governors State University student Lydia Aguirre joins President Jimmy Carter and former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Donna Shalala as a new member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS), an honors organization that recognizes high-achieving college students. Aguirre, who enrolled at Governors State in 2017, is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics while minoring in Biology.

"It's great to be recognized for all of my hard work," she said. "I'm proud and honored to be invited to become a member."

NSCS invites less than 10 percent of all eligible students nationwide to join the ranks of its diverse membership every year. Membership connects students to over \$1 million in scholarships, professional development resources and leadership and service experiences.

Membership is "more than just a symbol of academic achievement; it's a distinction of honor," said NSCS Executive Director Scott Mobley. "Our scholars are some of the best of the best who have shown unwavering commitment to academic excellence early in their collegiate journey."

Carter and Shalala are honorary members of the organization, which was founded in 1994.