Governors State University

OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship

Newsroom

Marketing and Communications

5-18-2021

Jaguar Soccer Teams Sweep Freshman of the Year Awards

Office of Marketing and Communications Governors State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://opus.govst.edu/newsroom

Recommended Citation

Office of Marketing and Communications, "Jaguar Soccer Teams Sweep Freshman of the Year Awards" (2021). *Newsroom*. 156.

https://opus.govst.edu/newsroom/156

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Marketing and Communications at OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship. It has been accepted for inclusion in Newsroom by an authorized administrator of OPUS Open Portal to University Scholarship. For more information, please contact opus@govst.edu.

University Park, IL, May 18, 2021

Jaguar Soccer Teams Sweep Freshman of the Year Awards

The <u>Governors State men's</u> and <u>women's soccer</u> programs recently completed their 2021 seasons, which were moved from the fall to spring because of COVID-19.



The men's team finished

10-5-2 overall and advanced to the championship game of the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament. The Jaguars came up just short, losing to four-time champion Cardinal Stritch, 2-1, in overtime. The women's squad compiled a 3-7-0 record, setting several program firsts and just missing out on the CCAC Tournament.

As a result of their strong performances, both teams were honored with CCAC Awards. For the men, midfielder/forward Andy Latorre was named Freshman of the Year and joined on the All-CCAC First Team by goalkeeper Luis Ramirez. Midfielder Hamzat Sanni, defender Dawson Swearengen and forward Dylan Swearengen were chosen All-CCAC Second Team.



On the women's side, Avery Damjanovic was chosen CCAC Freshman of the Year and selected to the All-CCAC Second Team.

Having six all-conference selections and a pair of freshman of the year award winners is the result of tireless recruiting on the part of head coaches Matt Eggert (men) and Ante Cop (women) and their coaching staffs. A remarkable achievement for two programs that started from scratch in the fall of 2019.